Skip to content

Do You Fondue? (Giveaway)

December 5, 2011

 

This sweepstakes is closed, and a winner has been chosen and notified. Thanks to all of you for joining the Jarlsberg fondue discussion. Check back for more great promotions soon!

**************************************************

Our friend, Barrie Lynn, The Cheese Impresario, shares the delicious joys of making cheese fondue at BASIL, a digital food magazine.

There’s also a how-to educational video, from her series, CHEESE RULES, on SMALL SCREEN NETWORK.

The fondue is made with artisanal aquavit, a Scandinavian spirit that pairs beautifully with Jarlsberg.  TIP:  if you can’t find Aquavit, or don’t want to use spirits in your fondue, substitute either an equal amount of white wine (Reisling would be nice) or unsweetened apple juice.  And that adorable fondue-for-two pot Barrie is holding can be won, too.  Simply post your own Jarlsberg fondue recipe tips to be entered to win the fondue set, courtesy of BOSKA HOLLAND, the ultimate source for cheese tools. Share your favorite fondue dippers, flavor pairings or memories. Winner will be chosen at random from all Jarlsberg tips submitted*.

Fondue For Two

1 cup shredded Jarlsberg cheese

2 teaspoons all purpose flour

1/2 cup dry white wine

1 small clove garlic, minced

1 tablespoon apricot brandy (or apricot nectar) or aquavit

Dash of salt, nutmeg and pepper

Instructions

Toss cheese with flour in a bowl.  In fondue pot, heat wine with garlic until bubbles rise to surface. DO NOT BOIL. Add ½ cup cheese, stirring constantly until melted. Repeat until all the cheese has been added and melted. DO NOT LET MIXTURE BOIL.  Stir in brandy or aquavit, salt, nutmeg and pepper.  Keep fondue mixture hot while serving. Pass the fondue forks and assorted “dippers.”

*Sweepstakes entry period ends Wednesday, December 7, 2011 at midnight ET. Qualifying entries will be submitted to sweepstakes at that point, and winner will be chosen at random using Random.org. There is no cash value to this prize. Shipping only to continental US, excluding Alaska. Void where prohibited.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. sofia fernandes permalink
    December 5, 2011 9:46 am

    a lil cayenne could go far as well i like a little bit of a kick and try some plum instead of apricot delish all the way

  2. December 5, 2011 9:47 am

    yummy

  3. December 5, 2011 10:41 am

    I love fondue. I haven’t thought of doing one for a long time. I just go into a closet to eat my Jarlsberg. Shut up! I don’t want to share.

  4. Regina Staiger permalink
    December 5, 2011 9:13 pm

    so simply made to fondue with out burying the nutty flavor of the cheese

    • Regina Staiger permalink
      December 5, 2011 9:16 pm

      possibly a light grating of hazelnut but no more

  5. Jennifer Grover permalink
    December 7, 2011 12:51 pm

    sounds delish. It has been years since I’ve had fondue

  6. Billy Barmes permalink
    December 7, 2011 12:53 pm

    I like to add a dash of Tony Chachere’s Creole seasoning to spice up the fondue. Of course, I add Tony’s and Jarlsberg to about everything (eggs, sandwiches, pizza).

  7. Cari Schroeder permalink
    December 7, 2011 1:00 pm

    With my fondue, I like using dry wine as well, but also add in garlic and nutmeg. Strange combo, but definitely delicious.

  8. Marilynn permalink
    December 7, 2011 1:33 pm

    My family doesn’t use alcohol so we play with fruit juices. So far one of our favorites is Black Current. It turns everything purple but so wonderful. We also play with the cheeses just to try new flavors.

  9. Carole permalink
    December 7, 2011 5:21 pm

    One of the times I studied abroad, I lived w/ a French family–fondue nights were always the most fun. Nowadays, I tend to like spicy, so we’ll add a dash or two of Tabasco.

  10. December 7, 2011 5:22 pm

    YUM! I love adding dried mustard or grainy mustard to every cheese sauce I make.. I would add it to fondue also to give it a little tang….. YUMMMMMMMMMY!!! I ❤ Jarlsberg!!!

  11. December 7, 2011 5:22 pm

    Looks so Yummy! 🙂 Would love to win this. Haven’t had Fondue in Years! #HappyHolidays

  12. December 7, 2011 5:31 pm

    haven’t done a fondue in many years!!!! would love to win this so show my grown kids how to fondue-it with love….sorry, reverting back to the 70’s! hahahah

  13. Angela Davis permalink
    December 7, 2011 5:33 pm

    That looks GOOOOOD!!! I would LOVE to have something like this to entertain my guests with, I bet I can come with 101 ways to use it. :):)

  14. craig permalink
    December 7, 2011 5:36 pm

    Awesome!

  15. Leslie permalink
    December 7, 2011 5:36 pm

    My favorite fondue memories are eating it while living in Holland. I don’t get to do it as much here in the states but I would with this lovely gift!!

  16. Monica permalink
    December 7, 2011 5:47 pm

    A little spice is good in the fondue, but only enough that allows the natural delicious flavor of the cheese or other ingredients to shine through.

  17. December 7, 2011 5:53 pm

    Nothing goes better with Jarslberg than delicious crispy apple slices! I like something with lots of flavor, but not too tart, like a Honeycrisp, soo good!

  18. Amie b permalink
    December 7, 2011 6:05 pm

    Sounds great! I love Jarlsberg!

  19. Liz permalink
    December 7, 2011 6:13 pm

    I love fondue but my fondue pot broke!

  20. Marg permalink
    December 7, 2011 6:16 pm

    I haven’t had fondue in years! Would love to have a pot!

  21. punk permalink
    December 7, 2011 7:24 pm

    ive never tryed fondue,if i win this i will be so happy to be able to finally try fondue for the first time mmmmmmm

  22. Rich Tester permalink
    December 7, 2011 7:34 pm

    This made me think of all the neat stuff you can eat fondue on. Bread, veggies, seared meat, Ect. I NEED a fondue set!

  23. Katrina permalink
    December 7, 2011 8:23 pm

    I really love dipping french bread, broccoli, fingerling potatoes, cubed chicken, and apples in a cheese fondue.

  24. Mia Everette permalink
    December 7, 2011 8:49 pm

    I’ve never had fondue, but I love me some cheese!

Leave a Reply

